Archinect
anchor

Does it look bad to stay in graduate school for a bit longer?

robhaw

After high school, I did military service and worked in a different industry. I then started architecture school at 23, graduated from a 3-year Bachelors with a high GPA at 26 and worked for 2 years in architecture practice. Finally, I started a Masters at 28 and I am now due to graduate in 2 years time.

I am studying at a university in Europe with an interdisciplinary curriculum in architecture, urban planning, building science & construction management. 

The case is I am greatly enjoying my studies (from an academic point of view), since my interest in the built environment is very broad.Therefore, I would like to take extra credits (or do an exchange) and spend another 1.5 year in school (so 3.5-4 years in total) graduating at 32.

There is not a financial issue, but I understand that at this age most people are already licensed and in a PA position, so I am worried about facing age discrimination when looking for a graduate job.

What's your take on this? Have you seen mature students making a smooth transition into practice? Have you evidenced age discrimination taking place? Realistically, would staying longer at graduate school look bad? Or shall I graduate as soon as possible and get back in the industry? (I intend to practice in Europe and my degree grants me professional rights here).

Thank you for your time. 

Oct 17, 20 7:45 am
bowling_ball

This has been covered approximately 14 thousand times on these boards but it's Saturday morning so I'll indulge.

No. You're not too old at all. 

I graduated at 31 and was not unique in my graduating class. Those of us with more life experience not only did better in school, but we've risen to leadership positions a lot quicker than our younger colleagues. With military experience, it's reasonable that you could expect the same.