Archinect
anchor

Slower pace at the office. How can I help more!

Alex Jalz

I graduated with my masters in architecture in the summer of this year. I was able to secure a job in January with a firm I had worked  with the previous summer. Unlike many of my classmate I was very lucky to have secure my job prior to covid. 

I started  working right after graduating and I’ve enjoyed my time at the firm so far. But... I can help but notice that things are a bit slow. Prior to going back to work I asked my employer if the job was still on the table considering the covid situation and they assure me the firm was doing well and they wanted me  to be in the team. On my first day then again I was reassured that the firm was doing very well. but now after a few months have passed...it seems slow. 

I’ve been helping with marketing materials and things of that nature, but what else could I be doing at this time to ensure I am being as useful to the firm as possible? In this economy I would love to maintain my job and I want to be as productive as possible. To keep myself entertained and of course to be of use to the firm! 

Thanks!  

Oct 5, 20 1:14 am
thisisnotmyname

Have you asked your supervisor the above question?   If you are wondering why you haven't been laid off, it sounds like they want to keep you around so that they have staff in place and quickly available when work picks up.  Appreciate what you have.  Many firms out there withdrew people's job offers and cut staff this year.

Oct 5, 20 8:28 am  · 
4  · 
atelier nobody

Also, frankly, you're cheaper to keep on the books during a down time than more senior staff.

Oct 5, 20 3:49 pm  · 
3  · 
senjohnblutarsky

First ask.

Then find whatever you can.  Does you company print drawings in house?  Cut and fold binder strips.  Offer to scan existing building drawings that aren't already on the server. Dead filing. Quality control (even basic proof reading) on outgoing documents.  

Mostly, just ask.