Archinect
anchor

MBA or not

LOOOL

I'm an architect with two years experience, and planned on doing my masters in computational design, but now, especially after the pandemic I realise how important it is to have your own savings,  I've been wondering if I should do an MBA instead, and wanted to know if anyone knows of architects who've got team lead positions at big architectural firms like Skidmore Owings, or Perkins and will, etc after the MBA Degree? Would this degree make a difference in the hiring process or will I be hired solely on the basis of my design experience?

Oct 1, 20 3:00 pm
Jay1122

is this a joke? You think an MBA will get you a team lead position in SOM etc?  I can tell you in confidence you can land those lead position even without college degree. It is all about actual knowledge, skill and experience. Does MBA help? Of course, but not much. Everyone values experience more than resume title. MBA is way better than computational design if you ask me. I don't know who will care about that absolute niche of niche. maybe Zaha? Morphosis? MAD? Gehry? Way too limiting. Just consider your tuition cost and opportunity cost. If its 2 years program, you lose 2 years work experience. No one can tell you whether master is worth or not. But if you go into it with full debt private school, my advice is hell no.

Oct 1, 20 3:47 pm  · 
 · 
LOOOL

Right right, thank you for your input! I don't necessarily mean a lead position as soon as you graduate, I just mean 2 years exp + an MBA vs 2 years exp + an March, would it be the same? Is there any value the MBA adds is all I'm trying to figure out

Oct 2, 20 2:28 am  · 
 · 
awkeytect

If your intent would be to leverage it to jump to a team lead position in an architecture office, I think you may be disappointed. (i.e. they're still going to be interested in your experience). The optics of hiring someone with two years of experience to lead a team with 2-3x the experience just doesn't work.