Archinect
anchor

Foreign Junior Architect

Does anybody know what you need for getting a better chance of employment in the NYC/USA? I’m an architectural designer with a European Master’s degree.

Sep 16, 20 10:39 am
Non Sequitur

All you need is to be more competent than the other applicants. Since you've decided to crowd-source such a basic question, I will guess that your chances are not good.

Sep 16, 20 10:46 am  · 
 · 
przemula

Why you're being such a bitch? OP is probably FOB immigrant minding his own business and trying to improve his life, asking an advice how to get a job, and you have to counter with your grumpy old man comments. Go be a downer somewhere else

Sep 16, 20 2:12 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

Why be a wanker when one-post ponies crowd-source super generic questions? Also, I'm not old at all.

Sep 17, 20 10:56 am  · 
2  · 
randomised

what sometimes can give a foreign applicant an edge is when the office you apply to has projects in your country of origin. I was once hired as a designer (not architect!) on the spot in NY, they cleared a desk for me after my talk and could start right away because they were just asked to participate in a competition in my home country (NL). So, do your research and know who to apply to :-)

Sep 16, 20 11:13 am  · 
1  · 
monosierra

Indeed, this is the single greatest advantage - to know the culture, code, and language of the home country where your US firm hopes to work in.

Sep 16, 20 11:18 am  · 
 · 
Jay1122

Only huge international firms require the cultural and language aspect. And they mostly want senior level, not entry level. Honestly most of time they just find a local AOR to collaborate if they are not familiar. I have only seen less than 5 specifically wants certain language out of thousands posts. To rely on that to find job is not logical. And the competition case mentioned above, you will get booted way too fast after competition is done.

Sep 16, 20 11:30 am  · 
 · 
randomised