Archinect
anchor

Looking for career advice

nunyakango

Hello, to introduce myself I am a young architect with an undergraduate degree and few years of experience. I am based in India. Between all the uncertainty that COVID-19 has put forth and the general state of life affairs, I feel a bit lost. I've been working in a small-medium office(well reputed/published) since the last three years, ever since college. In these years, I have worked on some computational design driven installations/ small scale pavilions and few commercial interiors. While I have learned and gained a good skillset and confidence when it comes to these areas, I feel like I haven't worked enough with 'conventional' architecture projects. In the long term, I would like to work in similar research based, digital driven projects but with their limited applications and demand, I don't know how viable it is as a full time career. Also, with the combined effect of COVID-19 and the economic slowdown, there hasn't been much work in the office and whilst I'm getting paid and haven't been fired, but I also haven't had much work (sometimes almost none). I was planning to apply for a graduate course by the end of this year but with restricted travel, new norms for education and general sense of uncertainty I'm not too sure what to do. I kind of feel like maybe I'm wasting important career years and stagnating in this workplace. I also feel a little scared to make a change maybe, because of the unstable job market and I feel that perhaps with my current experience/ skills I won't be able to easily find a nice workplace. All this has been adversely affecting my daily behaviour and mental health. I guess what I'm looking for here is just advice and answers; One, in most simple terms that have I jeopardized my career with bad choices and is it too late to make a change? Two, if I can actually make a change how do most offices react to people with not so relevant experience? (I feel that might be the case, sin