Archinect
anchor

Applying to grad school with Ps instead of Bs

ham1

Hi everyone, 

I'm currently a Junior undergrad student with another year before I start applying to grad schools, and I'm not sure if I should let a class grade be seen on my transcript. (FYI I am thinking about applying to schools with joint degree programs in M Arch as well as MUP/MCP.

For some background info, because of COVID, all grades for the Winter 2020 semester at Michigan were automatically set to P/F with an option to be switched to your letter grade at the end of the semester. Out of my 4 classes, I ended up doing well in 3 of them, prompting a change from Ps to As. However, in my upper-level writing level Urban Planning class I got a B+, which would drop my cumulative GPA. Would it be it smarter for me to keep the "P: Covid" mark on my transcript along with my other As for that semester, or should I just bite the bullet and make it a B+ to show how I did in an Urban Planning related class, for academic integrity, etc? 

Because I'm applying to grad schools for M Arch and MUP/MCP, both my portfolio and transcript will probably be looked at very carefully, so I'm just trying to be as careful as possible even if it probably won't be the deciding factor in the end. 

Anything helps, thanks!

Jun 22, 20 3:27 pm
anonymoususer

What would your GPA be without the P and what would it be with the P? Since you mentioned that that it would drop if you include the B+. 

Jun 22, 20 3:32 pm  · 
 · 
ham1

It would go from a 3.613 to a 3.598. As someone who is pretty OCD, this REALLY bugged me. However, I'm taking three online classes this summer (doing the prerequisite classes now, lucky me) that I'm doing very well in so far. If all goes well and I get As, my GPA should sit around 3.65 - 3.69. If I add the B+, that would drop to 3.61 - 3.65

Jun 22, 20 3:46 pm  · 
 · 
archanonymous