Archinect
anchor

What is the difference between BA in Arch, BArch, and BS in Arch

quincyhawkins

I'm a high school graduate looking to apply to university in the fall but I'm still very confused on the subject of types of degrees. I want to pursue a degree that has a focus on drafting, primarily hand-drafting but I'm fine with autocad as well, but I don't know what degree type would suit me since I don't really know what they are in general. Could someone explain? Please feel free to give lots of detail.

May 21, 20 12:56 pm

1 Featured Comment

All 7 Comments

Non Sequitur

hand-drafting?  I think first you'll need to get into a different line of studies and develop a time machine.  Then, go back 30ish years and apply for a B.Arch.  Besides that, hand-drafting is, in general, treated as nostalgia rather than a teachable skill.  Some schools still have high regards for the practice since it develops important sketching/thinking skills and work discipline but it's not very common anymore.

As for the type of architecture degree... you need to look at the requirements for license in your area.  If you're in the usa, then it's an accredited B.arch.  Any other university degree will need an accredited M.arch after the fact.  If all you want to do is draft, then look at your local college for technologist diplomas.

May 21, 20 1:02 pm  · 
 · 
tduds

1 - a BArch is a professional degree. You'll be able to begin your path to licensure directly from undergrad. It's (I believe) always a 5 year program. BS or BA in Architecture (or other names) are not professional (aka "pre-professional") degrees that don't qualify as a prerequisite for licensure. Usually they're 4 year programs, after which you'll need to earn a Masters degree in order to be eligible for licensure.

2 - Not to burst your bubble but if you want to focus on hand drafting & autocad you should study time travel. If you want to get a technician job in this decade, focus on BIM.