Archinect
anchor

Architect Alternative Career Path Advice

aarf125

Hi! I am a 27 years old professional registered architect who recently just resigned from my last job as an architectural designer in a multi-national architecture design consultant company. Since I graduated as a bachelor of architecture around five years ago, I always work in an architecture design consultant company and even start my side project by establishing a small design firm with my college friends. 

But in recent years, I feel unsatisfied with the industry. Mostly because having long work hour(sometimes 90 hours/week), low wage compared to the working hour, toxic office environment, and fragile profession (for instance: in this pandemic condition, many projects are held until an unspecified time, and many architects in my country get big pay cut). Another thing is I do sometimes feel, "I don't have what it takes to be a conventional architect." - such as that kind of persistence that makes you stand still even facing a horrible client or boss.

Nowadays, I'm doing my project as a freelance architect, competition project, and enroll various course that's not directly related to architecture, such as learn to code with python, learn to develop own project as architect-developer while preparing for graduate school, which until now I'm still uncertain on what major to takes and what profession that is the best for me because I feel that I have much interest but unsure on which path that will take me to the optimal position.

So I need other people POV to advise my condition on a more objective side. Keep in mind that I still love doing architecture stuff; it just those conditions I stated above that making me eager to go on with the profession thoroughly.