Archinect
anchor

Advice for someone considering moving into architecture

alexcope

Hi all,

I was hoping I might be able to get some insights from students and practicing architects at any level concerning the type of day-to-day work they do. What is the most rewarding thing about your job, and what's the worst thing? 

I finished my bachelor's of commerce majoring in marketing and business law 2 years ago and I'm working for a risk consultancy firm but not enjoying myself and the work I'm doing. Circumstances when I was at uni, both financial and time-wise, kind of forced me to finish that degree and get a job, but I'm in a position now to reconsider a career and architecture keeps popping up and was something I was always interested in.

I've reached out to local firms, and Linked-in has been a great resource, but the resounding sentiment, at least here in Australia, has been to not do it. The pay is terrible, the hours are long, the work is stressful, and that I should consider something else if I'm willing to put in the effort to change my career trajectory. I was going to move down a creative advertising/design route but wanted to deal with more intrinsic things, such as buildings. 

My stepdad owned a firm in Australia for many years but wasn't successful until his late 50's when he was the lead architect on a rather iconic building, and even he has said to consider something else.

I would greatly appreciate anyone's thoughts and insights as I'm at a bit of a crossroad and I'm not sure what to do with myself.

Thanks,

AC

Apr 23, 20 12:54 pm

1 Featured Comment

All 7 Comments

kimarum

Yup...Don't do it~

But if you can take over your stepdad's firm...then you will have a leg up...something to consider.

Apr 23, 20 1:05 pm  · 
 · 
newbie.Phronesis