Archinect
anchor

Multiple State License

I'm a licensed architect in multiple states but have really focused my work on just one state for the foreseeable future. 

I am hesitant about not renewing my other state licenses, but at the same time, I wonder if it's worth renewing them considering the costs. There's always a chance that an opportunity could spring up in one of the other states too...

Anyone else in the same/similar situation? To renew, or not to renew?

Mar 10, 20 2:26 pm
Gloominati

I've been in this situation and would recommend taking it on a state-by-state basis. Consider the likelihood of whether you might want to have a license in that state again at anytime in the future, and then make sure you understand that state's rules and procedures for reactivating an expired license.

Some states make it easy and inexpensive to shelve your license indefinitely but have the option to reinstate it. Some of them charge no dues at all while your license is intentionally shelved, while others charge reduced dues.

But there are other states that will charge you all the years of back fees if you let your license expire and then need that license again for something.  There are also some that will treat you like a first-time applicant if you have let your license in that state lapse for 3 years or more, which can make you subject to complying with any rules that have changed in their licensing requirements, and also means you have to send your NCARB records and school transcripts and such all over again.

Mar 10, 20 3:18 pm  · 
 · 
t a z

State PDHs requirements also part of the consideration for maintaining and reinstating.

Getting state approved PDHs may be hard if you live elsewhere and to reinstate a lapsed license you may also have to have X number of PDH credits (up to a max cap) in some jurisdictions.

Mar 11, 20 11:01 am  · 
 · 
Gloominati