Archinect
anchor

Architect Fee

amplaylife

This is maybe just a post venting some frustrations, but I'd like to hear what my fellow peers think.

I went to go meet with a potential client (concrete contractor by trade) about a residential project; ground up, 2,100 SF.  I proposed a fee for Architectural services and the client mentioned that my fee was too high - comparing it to an "older" fellow he has been working with on past projects who charges him $2.75 / SF for drawings....

Yes, $2.75 / SF! This is in Northern California.  How do you eat?  I honestly don't know why peers in our profession are doing jobs for this low of a price.  Thoughts? 

Dec 3, 19 5:11 pm
SpontaneousCombustion

Not to mention any names, but I still have a copy of a fee schedule that a regular on this forum once posted, with rates that start at 40 CENTS per square foot!  

A lot of people who play architect are subsidized in various ways.  It's their retirement hobby (sounds like the explanation here), or they're really making their money as contractors and the architectural work is offered in service of that, or they have a trust fund, or a spouse in a more lucrative career, or are freeloading off parents or other relatives.

Dec 3, 19 5:24 pm  · 
 · 
thisisnotmyname

What you encountered is very common for residential.  There are lots of people providing minimal drawing sets of junky designs for cheap fees.   The clients don't know better or don't care.  The designers usually work out of their houses and have no staff.

Dec 3, 19 6:16 pm  · 
 · 
gibbost

RIck, while I see your point in trying to reverse engineer the fee, you're simply joining the race to the bottom.  Justifying a fee of what would be 1/3-1/4 of most architects is simply playing into their hands.