Archinect
anchor

Not studying architecture at university is the biggest regret of my life and I'm not sure what to do now. Any advice please?

paulmallon

Sorry, I know career advice questions get posted here all the time and I will try not to make this too long-winded. I am at a loss for what to do now and I'm suffering with depression and anxiety because of my career situation.

I did my Bachelor's degree in Town Planning in the UK. If I could go back in time and tell myself to study Architecture instead I would. I'm not sure why I chose Town Planning except for the fact that I loved geography, history and maps, but mostly because I was 18 and didn't know anything.

I've always been interested in the environment and sustainability too so I decided to do a masters in sustainable design. I couldn't get a related job directly after uni so I lived at home for a year and worked in a call centre to save for my masters.

After doing my masters I worked as a green building design/sustainability consultant for 3 years in Singapore. This was at times very interesting. Mostly involved things like daylight/solar heat gain analysis, energy modelling, windflow and rain analysis. Lots of different kinds of calculations and simulations to help architects design buildings to meet certain energy efficiency and occupant comfort performance objectives. I used rhino and grasshopper a lot. I also worked with landscape architects to help make outdoor public spaces dry, cool and incorporate sustainable design and drainage principles into masterplans. I can say these years of experience really touched on a broad range of industries including architectural design and engineering, mechanical & electrical engineering and even civil engineering. Most of this I taught myself or learned on the job (Town Planning degree was not useful here). My colleagues were mostly coming from architectural or M&E engineering backgrounds.