Archinect
anchor

How can I become a more creative and better architectural designer while employed?

titslip

I graduated from a highly-ranked B.Arch program a few years ago and now have about four years of professional experience under my belt.  I have been excelling at my current firm and making my way into a Project Managerial role, and I am fairly strong organizationally, technically, and in leadership.  Some day I would like to start my own architectural firm or partnership. I am an ok designer, but I believe it is one of my weak points, especially when I compare to some of the dedicated designers at my firm, for example one who has interned for OMA.  So, I would like to improve, in order to become more well rounded and be the best Architect I can be.

What are things I can do, maybe every day, to improve?  I'd like to almost outline a program with deliverables as "becoming more architecturally creative" is quite vague.  And I'm not sure that, for example, reading architectural theory will be so effective (if you think otherwise I'd like to hear) vs dedicating an hour a day to sketching or something similar and hands on which engages my right brain more deliberately.  

Thoughts?

Nov 4, 19 12:41 pm
tduds

My basic advice for any creative pursuit - whether it's architecture, music, painting, cooking, carpentry, whatever... is to pay attention to what other people do, then investigate why they do it. In your own output - try not to simply reproduce the what (i.e. following the recipe), but rather reproduce their why with your own spin. The goal isn't to create faithful reproductions, but to hone your critical thinking muscle. You'll do it poorly a bunch, but with each failure there's an opportunity to understand why your solution didn't capture the question properly.