Archinect
anchor

Is taking a draftsman position at a larger company a step down?

Archigrad88

Hi all, I graduated in 2018 and worked at a local architecture firm for a year and a half as a Junior Architect. It was a small 4 people firm that mainly did residential architecture. I liked it a lot but I think its time for me to move on to gain more experience.

With that said I have been applying and was offered the chance to interview with a much larger company in NYC probably like a 100 person firm. But the position is for a Draftsman, would this look like a step down if my career if I took that position? I know any experience is good experience, I guess im wondering if that would be an acceptable position for someone with 1.5 full time experience.

Thanks

Oct 24, 19 12:22 pm
Non Sequitur

You have less than 2y experience... very few gigs can be considered a step down at this stage of your career... but it'll depend on how they define draftsman.  Gaining experience in drawing production is always a good thing because tho.  Just don't stay there too long if you don't see the opportunity to raise to PA after a few years.  Something to ask.  

Oct 24, 19 12:28 pm  · 
 · 
Bloopox

Drafters can be everything from someone absolutely entry-level to someone with 30+ years of experience, so that title doesn't inherently connote anything at all about seniority, though it does suggest someone unlicensed and not in a manager role. 

Almost anything with "junior" in it suggests a relatively entry-level role.  When I see "junior"-anything on a resume I assume less than 5 years of experience.  (The one exception would be "junior partner", which in some corporate structures just means a partner with a lower % of ownership than others, or a partner who has fewer certain privileges or responsibilities per the corporation's agreement.)