Archinect
anchor

NYC VS LA

ArchiTwn

Hi Everyone,

So I have a dilemma, I graduated from my M.Arch a few months ago and now I'm trying to decide where to go next. I have 2 job offers one in LA and the other in NYC (similar salary). I've lived and worked in NYC before but the biggest thing for me would be the cost of living but apparently LA isn't all that much better. But what I really want to know is what are peoples experiences working as an architect in once city over the other. Having worked in NYC I know that design wise it tends to be a lot of skyscrapers and tall buildings coupled with late nights :( . I have no idea what the design ideologies are in LA but I have heard that it is more laid back and experimental. Also of course the LA weather wins over NYC which is great but can't base a move on weather alone!

Has anyone worked in both cities? Or have any general insights that might help me make my decision. Thanks!

Sep 17, 19 7:55 am
threeohdoor

There are hundreds (thousands?) of firms in NYC, only a few actually do anything higher than 75 or 125 feet. In that sense, I'd take a step back from  saying that NYC design tends to be focused on skyscrapers. No modern city has a unique design ideology - that's usually the domain of the firm and the wanker(s) that run the firm. Long nights are also a function of the firm that employs you - some have their shit together and schedule/staff accordingly. Others lose their minds conjuring deadlines for clients that may or may not pay for the added time (either case, you won't get much of that 'added' value).

Of the offers, which firms does more interesting work? Is it work for region-specific projects, or will you be doing design bs for some remote location? Are the firms comparable in size/staffing? It cannot be that the only decision point is location. Do you have family/friends in either location? What do you do outside of work - does either location play better in that regard?