Archinect
anchor

Should I go to grad school knowing a recession will hit?

I have a bachelor of science in architecture and have known for a while I want to go back for grad school in order to pursue a more academically-oriented job track. I haven't found the professional world the greatest fit for me so I've been wanting to hone my writing skills along with history and theory focus in order to begin a teaching career. 

However, I understand it's ill-advised to find yourself fresh on the job market at the start of a recession so I'm looking for advice on the timing of this decision. Wait a year? Wait 2 years? Wait 3 years? Play it by ear? It's all going to be OK as long as you don't take out loans? 

Aug 28, 19 6:29 pm
robhaw

I am at a similar position with a bachelors and 2 years work experience in the UK which is heading for a recession due to (the very likely no-deal) Brexit. I want to attend graduate school and I am not sure about the timing. Architecture news sites are saying recruitment is on hold in London and there are fewer vacancies advertised . 

Aug 28, 19 7:08 pm  · 
 · 
Koww

gotta wait till '28.... give whoever comes after trump some time to fix the mess. i'd suggest grad school now, 2-3 years, then 5-6 years post grad. should give you enough time to learn AI, which will be the only technology we really need in the future... also history & theory have been debunked... stay away

Aug 28, 19 8:39 pm  · 
 · 
archinine
You can’t predict recessions, don’t base your life decisions around potentials. They’re inevitable as part of a capitalist economy. Some are worse than others. Anything like that of 2008 is a once in a lifetime/generational phenomena. Worst case you spend a couple years after school doing something that isn’t architecture for a few years til the jobs pick back up.
Aug 29, 19 3:13 pm  · 
 · 

2008 was a “once in a lifetime” event if you were 6 years old at the time. 

Typical cycle is about 8 years.

Aug 29, 19 3:50 pm  · 
 · 
tduds