Archinect
anchor

Hired Architect won’t stamp drawings?

Lmartinezsf

I’m an architectural intern working for a construction company. Our client hired an independent licensed Architect for a flat fee but now the Architect refuses to sign off on the drawings even though she is designing them. 

This includes elevations, interior and furniture designs, lighting, and equipment placement for a commercial space. The architect is claiming she was only hired to design and that she would have charged more if she was going to stamp the drawings.

This poses a problem as we are a construction firm and do not have a licensed architect to stamp, and the architect has not only repeatedly overlooked ADA and fire code but also basic drawing and construction. This includes drawing elevations but not reflecting this in plan, not providing accessible entry,  designing elevations without accounting for framing or how it would actually be built, the list goes on.  I’ve had to address her designs and code every week, being left no choice to “fix” them for the permits as she will not. 

The architect stated she is not responsible and will not stamp. How can this be if they are her designs? 

Aug 21, 19 7:19 pm
tduds

"she would have charged more if she was going to stamp the drawings."

So pay her what she wants to stamp. 

Conversely, check your contract. If it's not in writing that she is to deliver stamped documents, she doesn't have to deliver stamped documents. Get a new contract.

Aug 21, 19 7:24 pm  · 
 · 
Lmartinezsf

Hi, thank you for reply. The client hired the architect on her own so the contract is between client and architect.

Aug 21, 19 7:51 pm  · 
 · 
tduds

Sorry I don't know why I assumed you were the client. Anyway, the contract is always between the client an the architect. What I said applies to the client. 

Aug 22, 19 12:43 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

there is a reason why it’s not permitted for construction companies to have rubber stampers on staff.