Archinect
anchor

Need for Consultants on Small Projects

tomsmith18555

Hi everyone,

I'll try to keep this quick. I'm an Architect that left the commercial world (50k SF+ projects) and is working to build up a residential practice. I'm doing some fill-in work here and there while I get my legs under me, and have some really small commercial work that's landed in my lap. It all seems pretty easy, but I'm struggling with what a typical project delivery looks like at this scale.

Question is this: I'm helping a developer client put a pergola on a free standing restaurant building. He wants it quick and dirty and so do I (this isn't the type of work I want to do, but I'd like to learn how to do small projects like this to help fill the gaps when it makes sense). Typically I would call up my go-to MEP consultant and get a proposal, but is this the kind of project where the GC's sub will provide these design services as needed? We're talking about a few string lights and ceiling fans. Is there a specification section I can include that would cover this as some type of deferred submittal? I'll have the same question with STRL probably (depending on whether we go with some kind of turnkey system or not).

I've got a call into my engineer to pick his brain (and I realize there's likely some variation from jurisdiction to jurisdiction), but wondering in general what the Archinect hive mind thinks.

Many thanks in advance. XOXO

Jul 1, 19 2:45 pm
poop876

I'm assuming they are putting that pergola so they can occupy the roof? You ought to have a structural engineer for sure as the now you will be having 100 lbs live load on that roof. 

Jul 1, 19 3:19 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

that, plus potential egress issues.

Jul 1, 19 3:25 pm  · 
 · 
tomsmith18555

No, it's an existing, adjacent patio that they want to cover with a new pergola. We're talking 1000% grade A architecture here.