Archinect
anchor

Too experienced for Intern, too inexperienced for Junior

xuwei93

Hi Archinect,

I'm getting a bit desperate in my job search after some of my previous attempts have failed and I hope you can help me with your experience.

My background is as follows: I graduated in November 2018 with a Master's in a prestigious European university and I'm trying to find work in the US. Since then, I have been doing some freelance work (visualizations mostly, as well as the odd competition) to have a non-committed form of work so that I am readily available to start an office job, and so that I can be in the US for longer periods of time for interviews and such.

Since then, I have seen that most Junior offers ask for someone with 1-3 years of experience and experience in CD. Now, for the life of me I can't find a way to bridge that 0-to-1 year of experience gap and CD experience. Firms don't find that one year of Freelance experience relevant, because it's not at an office, and it doesn't involve CD. Added to that, I can't take an Internship, since they're for students and not Master's graduates. I can't find a way to become a relevant contender for those jobs.

I'm at my wit's end and I really hope some of you can share some insight on this.

Jun 25, 19 10:37 am
senjohnblutarsky

I think you're getting too hung up on the titles.  Look for someone offering a job with zero experience.  That's it.  Not trying to be a dick, but you don't have any experience (that they're asking for). 

Jun 25, 19 10:46 am  · 
 · 
xuwei93

Nah you weren't being a dick, I'm aware of my lack of experience. I guess I'll have to set aside the title and focus on requirements and offering as much as I can.

Jun 25, 19 3:44 pm  · 
 · 
Gloominati