Archinect
anchor

Important Philosophical Question

atelier nobody

So, I've been doing this the same way for over 20 years, but I am rethinking it. I've decided to submit the question to the ultimate arbiter of architectural correctness - the Archinect forums.

When dimensioning masonry for CDs, do you use nominal or actual dims?

Masonry wall out-to-out: 120'-0" or 119'-7-5/8"?

Masonry opening: 3'-4" or 3'-4-3/8"?

Jun 19, 19 6:49 pm
Non Sequitur

I typically write how many full bricks I expect with special dims where a block is cut or needs to align  with something for whatever reason. Second to this, I’ll add a rough opening dim and, if present overall size of door, window , etc.  I let the mason do their thing after that.   They probably don’t care for that 9mm difference. 

Jun 19, 19 7:05 pm  · 
 · 
Wilma Buttfit

Nominal for plans, actual for details.

Jun 19, 19 7:16 pm  · 
 · 
curtkram

ACTUAL!!!!!!!  out to out for a masonry wall should be a normal dimension.  The 1/8" should be the clear dimension.  

Jun 19, 19 9:08 pm  · 
 · 
oldwhitehouse

I'm Union Commercial  Construction in NYC. Every trade appreciates the architect who gave it some real thought and put Actual Dimensions on a plan. We know how to make it happen in reality.

Jun 19, 19 9:22 pm  · 
 · 
curtkram

hell ya. That's why the last set sent out still had 1/256" dimensions

Jun 19, 19 10:13 pm  · 
 · 
oldwhitehouse

That's a bit close of a tolerance curtkram, but stupid comments must be tolerated in online forums, so knock yourself out.

Jun 19, 19 10:47 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

Trades appreciate clear instructions that leave no guess work as to the architect's intent. Micromanaging every aspect with non nonsensical or overly precise dimensions don't help anyone. Sure, I want this block wall to be exactly 4367mm long please.

Jun 19, 19 11:19 pm  · 
 · 
oldwhitehouse