Archinect
anchor

Relocation Fee Compensation with New Job?

James1985

I am almost getting my 3rd job in Portland, OR, and I am currently preparing to move in from another city. The biggest part is selling the home we own now. 

I am curious if mid-size architecture companies (40 -50 people) may cover a part of the relocation fees such as moving cost, the fee to hire realtor to sell the house etc... Does anyone have experience?

I assume that this depends on my experience and new position. I have about 3 years of experience overseas, and another 3 years in the U.S. 

I would appreciate your advice. 

Jun 9, 19 12:10 pm
eeayeeayo

I've worked in some firms that will pay relocation expenses for fairly senior staff, especially in hard to fill positions.  What exactly they'll cover depends on the firm and the individual applicant - it's something you should try to negotiate.  

Be aware that in the new tax code you have to pay income taxes on any relocation expenses covered by your employer.

Jun 9, 19 12:22 pm  · 
 · 
James1985

Thanks for your reply, eeayeeayo.

>I've worked in some firms that will pay relocation expenses for fairly senior staff, especially in hard to fill positions.

Sure, that is what I guessed... I think the position of my level could be easily substituted, but I will negotiate, at least as you advised.

And, I was not thinking about the tax report, at all. Thank you again for the important information!

Jun 9, 19 12:45 pm  · 
 · 
3tk

You can always ask nicely.  Worst they would do is decline to offer.  I've asked and gotten a modest amount in the past in a mid-level position.

Jun 10, 19 5:42 pm  · 
 · 
SneakyPete

Generally:

If they approached YOU, they'll probably pay.

If you approached THEM, you're on your own.

YMMV.

Jun 10, 19 7:42 pm  · 
 · 
James1985

Hi 3tk,

Yes, sure...I should be definitely polite. I feel good to hear you had some stipend when you got mid-level position. Thank you, I appreciated your comments.

Hi SneakyPete,