Archinect
anchor

At what point of the learning process should the amount of redlines diminish?

TedMosby

Hi all,
Some background: I'm still very new to the field - I'm still in undergrad and have been at a firm for about a year now. It is the first firm I have worked at and in the very beginning I was new to the whole process in a professional setting. 

Originally, I interpreted "redlines" as a way to teach the new kid what was done wrong and what to do since I did not know better about certain things. I'd print out a sheet of my drawing, bring it to my principal, he'd mark it up, explain some things, and I'd go on my way. As time went on, I began to feel guilty that we would still sit down and do these redlines because I interpreted it as my lack of knowledge and that I should not make him have to do this time consuming process still. My plumbing plans would not be ideal, my site plans needed some additional details, I'd have to move around some drawings/schedules on the layouts, assistance placing kitchen equipment and filling out the schedule, mechanical calculations, etc.

I understand that at this point in my development that this is natural, but I was wondering at what level/stage should there be a dramatic decrease in having to do this process. Looking a little more online about it does help alleviate some anxiety as it seems like a very common practice, but at what REASONABLE point do redlines become rare? I say reasonable because I know some of you are/were star students and probably flew past that stage, but for my sanity what do you think is an average?

Thank you all for your feedback and have a lovely day.

Apr 30, 19 3:53 pm
Non Sequitur

They won't stop until you get comfortable with the shit you're drawing.  No one flys past this stage in the real world so don't beat yourself up for it. This is not what is taught in schools, but what is taught is intelligent problem solving.