Archinect
anchor

Will you get a job referral from the boss whose firm you're quitting?

gentle puppies

I've been working at the same firm for over 6 years, and while they love me and I love it here, our firm simply has way too much overhead to get into the types of projects I'm looking to do.

I want to get a referral from the design principal here who I work with almost daily and appreciates my work best, but I'm kinda irreplaceable to him and I don't know if he can willingly aid my departure.  It's also awkward if my boss knows I am leaving prior to me getting a job secured.  How does one go about doing this?  He's by far my best reference.

I'm leaving a great firm with good pay, so my move is not about money, but if they're already gonna know I'm looking to leave, I might as well find out how much they are willing to offer to make me stay, and then use that sum as the basis of negotiations with a new firm, right?

I should've discussed these things with my old OAA mentor over lunch last week, but quitting seemed like a more distant prospect at the time lol

Apr 4, 19 3:26 am
gibbost

Honesty and transparency is your best bet.  If the outline of your talents above is accurate, then being a classy person will be the cherry on top.  Explain to them how much you value your time with their office and the conundrum you find yourself in.  Perhaps they would be willing to restructure or restrategize to align themselves with the type of projects you want.  Either way, a simple request for a reference letter should not spoil your working relationship.  If it does, then shame on them.  But before you get to the letter, explain thoroughly why you feel the need to leave.  Good offices will value that input.  Good luck!

Apr 4, 19 10:27 am  · 
 · 
Rusty!

Alex: "Quitting your job before securing a new one."

Hopefully you: "What is NOOOO!"

Alex: "Correct."

You again: "Young staff decision making for $800 Alex". 

Apr 4, 19 11:50 am  · 
 · 
whistler