Archinect
anchor

Internship duration

xuwei93

Hello archinect,

I am a recent graduate (M. Arch) with one summer experience as an intern. I just got an offer for an internship at a prestigious NY firm and I have to choose between 6 months or 12 months. I am having trouble making this decision. Would 6 months be enough to be qualified for a Junior position afterwards? Does staying the full 12 months have any benefits?

Looking forward to your wisdom

Feb 22, 19 5:36 pm
Non Sequitur

is it paid?

Feb 22, 19 6:44 pm  · 
 · 
xuwei93

Of course!

Feb 22, 19 8:00 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

you'd be surprised how many are not.

Feb 22, 19 8:23 pm  · 
 · 
xuwei93

By now I'm not surprised anymore... I'm just not willing to accept unpaid internships.

Feb 22, 19 9:06 pm  · 
 · 
Steeplechase

Seems odd to be taking a temporary position as a recent graduate. Why not just seek full time employment? Being a recent graduate should be enough to qualify for a junior position.

Feb 22, 19 7:14 pm  · 
 · 
xuwei93

I'm foreign, so for visa reasons and to get acquainted with american standards & units it seems like the best option. I see that some firms ask for experience specifically in the United States.

Feb 22, 19 8:02 pm  · 
 · 
Dangermouse

take 6 but build into your offer a performance review around month 4, with the option to extend to 12.  that way if you hate it, you're out, but if things go well, you can extend

Feb 22, 19 8:34 pm  · 
 · 
xuwei93

That sounds like a good option. I'm going to try to negotiate that.

Feb 23, 19 11:32 am  · 
 · 
Bench

You should also make clear your intentions during the interview process. You've finished your M.arch, so youre really more of a junior designer than an intern. Let them know that you're eager for this opportunity, but you also see yourself staying at the firm longer-term than just an internship and that you want the opportunity to transition into a proper JD role moving forward after the initial internship period.