Archinect
anchor

Dream job turned nightmare. Should I quit?

Alf55

I’m a recent graduate with a BS in Architecture and I have been working for a very reuputiable firm of 35ish people for close to two years doing extremely large and high end commercial, mutli-family residential, and banks. 

I interned with this firm my senior year and transitioned into full time post grad. The experience was amazing because of the firms size, I’m never stuck doing just one thing. 

However it’s almost too much experience. Lately I have been put on project after project which requires a big push in a short amount of time and I’m constantly putting in 60-70 hour weeks. I just finished a 21 hour shit...my longest yet. 

Frankly I’m burnt out and I feel very defeated in my current role. I’m wondering if I should find a different job, different profession, or try and work it out? your wisdom would be much appreciated. 

Besides a lack of work-life balance there seems to be a ton of management issues since everyone is constantly busy and pushing for their own deadlines. This makes it challenging to receive proper mentoring and I end up feeling like more of a burden. 

Not to mention everything going out of the office must be approved by our founder and main principal who is an extreme perfectionist and sometimes has us make changes right up until pencils down. One time I had to completely redesign a large portion of a building just one hour before our client meeting. 

Thoughts? prayers? Help! I’m so young and my passion for architecture is rapidly dying.  

Dec 5, 18 9:54 pm
shellarchitect

couple thoughts for you.....

• have you talked to anyone about this in your office?
  • I assume you are being paid for this time? I shouldn't have to ask
  • I assume that you will be applying to grad schools soon?  If not you should start planning to do so.  The career path of the never licensed is very different than the licensed.