Archinect
anchor

Business Structure & Liability - US Architect, Foreign 'Employer', US project

tektonic7

I am a California registered architect. My previous foreign employer (I lived overseas) would like to re-engage me remotely to act as their local representative for a US Interior Design project in a project management role during Programming through DD. The project will have a separate local AOR in the project's state. My questions:

1. Is it preferable for the foreign firm to set up a US entity to employ me directly, or for me to go at it as a sub-consulant with my own sole proprietorship or PC? 

2. Are third-party US-based "employers-of-record" a legal option whereby the foreign design firm partners with a local thrid-party entity to act as my employer, which handles payroll, tax witholding and labour law compliance, while I report directly to the foreign firm regarding the 'content' of my workload?

3. Does the fact I hold a license increase my personal liability when working in a cross-border PM role, even if the local AOR will be producing & stamping the construction documents? Do I still need my own Professional Liability and E&O insurance, in this case?

Thanks, in advance, for your thoughts on this unusual scenario!

Oct 9, 18 2:09 pm
BulgarBlogger

I am also a CA registered architect. The question is if the firm's instruments of service are in the "responsible control" of a CA registered architect. You should know this...

Oct 9, 18 9:27 pm  · 
 · 
BulgarBlogger

https://www.cab.ca.gov/act/ccr...

Oct 9, 18 9:30 pm  · 
 · 
BulgarBlogger

Curtis - get a license, then advise. I'd say the same thing to Balkins. 

OP- if the project is in California, all of the instruments of service that are produced by the "architectural firm" need to be in the responsible control of a licensed architect in that State and all types of those instruments of service (not just limited to technical submissions) need to be sealed by the licensed individual.