Archinect
anchor

Internship in Japan as a foreigner

kritikakharbanda

Hello everyone, I am an undergraduate student from India having an internship offer from one of the starchitects in Japan. However, having read the reviews, (mostly negative) I'm a bit sceptical. I would be grateful if somebody could give me any advice on this!

Oct 7, 18 6:09 pm
Dangermouse

i worked for one of the above.  my 2c:

-set clear expectations and boundaries on the hours you're going to work.  you aren't being paid, its not unreasonable to say "i have to leave at 12PM to catch last train".  

-its your internship.  feel free to ask to be involved in a specific project that interests you.  

-you won't get to know the 'starchitect' unless you get time with them out of the office.  this is very, very, very rare.

-tokyo has a lot of share houses with reasonable rent, where you can get your own room and share shower/kitchen areas.  this is common in japan for young working professionals, it isn't like an american flop house.  i lived in a share house and it was great

-you're indian--are you vegetarian or vegan?  virtually every japanese dish has dashi, which is made from fish.  consider relaxing your dietary restrictions while abroad.

-japanese people can be racist towards indians, as you have a reputation (fair or not) of being loud and smelly with no manners.  

-long hours are real.  the conditions can suck.  for me, it was worth it, because i got to work on the design phase of interesting projects, and i got to help do CA on some others.  if you treat it like a studio, where you're paying money to learn a specific technique or method of practice, it'll be much more rewarding, imho

Oct 7, 18 6:36 pm  · 
1  · 
kritikakharbanda