Archinect
anchor

Moving to Europe, but where?

lucas.g

Hi everybody!

I'm Lucas from Argentina. I'm 31 years old and I got my Architecture degree last May. I have Italian citizenship and passport, so I'm planning on moving to Europe in search of a better country to live in, a country where I could feel that I'm a part of. The thing is that I really can't decide where to move. Maybe you can help me in some way so I could choose one or two city(ies).

I don't want to move to North America, but as a reference, if I had to live there I would choose New York. Chicago, Toronto and Montreal are beautiful, but New York is bigger and the most populous, so I guess there are more opportunities there.

I have already removed some European countries from the list, so now I'm left with Ireland, the U.K., The Netherlands, Belgium, Switzerland, Germany, Austria and Denmark.

I know that London is one of the most expensive cities, or that Berlin is cheaper than London, but that kind of isolated statements really don't help. London may be one of the most expensive cities but people from around the world won't stop moving there.

This is my 7th/8th year working at a small building company owned by my father. In Europe I would prefer working in a big architecture office, not in building company. I also want to move to a city with a nice artistic and musical vibe, although being able to find a job in architecture is more important. My degree isn’t valid in Europe, but I think that the process of validating it won’t be too different in any of those countries. 

I am Italian too, but the problem is that I never lived there, so I guess I won't be taken as European when looking for a job, so it would be difficult finding one. Hence the need to move to a city with more opportunities.