Archinect
anchor

The issue of reputation in architecture.

Scent_of_a_woman

I am a fresh graduate trying to understand more about the professional world of architecture.

1) As a fresh graduate does it generally look better in your resume to have worked in a very large corporate firm regardless of the quality of work that they do? Or does it look better to have worked at a firm that has a more interesting portfolio?

2) How much does the size of the firm matter when it comes to reputation in this industry? Is bigger better most of the times? Or is it the quality of work output that matters the most?

3) Are there large firms out there with a bad reputation? Firms that do what we call 'bad' work? How do they get away with it without ruining their reputation? Obviously bad is a very simplistic term with which to describe architecture, but my point is that several buildings that get realised out there do not represent good architecture in the eyes of a several architects.

4) This is obviously the work of more commercially minded firms. Once someone works for a firm like that, could they later move to a more design led firm or are there constraints in terms of career progression?

5) In terms of early career progression what would be the critical moment when you realise you need to switch jobs? Does advancement in terms of responsibilities come from staying at one firm for a longer time or by switching between jobs (every 3-4 years for example)? Could you be regarded as less career driven if you stay at a firm for a rather long time like 10 years?

6) Finally, do you believe it's better to diversify your experience as much as possible by working in different firm types and sectors as well as on the client or contractor side or is architecture the field where it's best to find one thing and focus on that?

Sorry about the long post, I'm taking a flight in a few hours and don't have much to do.

Sep 21, 18 5:55 pm

2 Featured Comments

All 9 Comments

SneakyPete