Archinect
anchor

Is education a good sector?

chm@

Hi all,

I am a graduate working at a medium sized firm currently looking for a new role.

I recently made through a friend the acquaintance of a director at a large firm working in a variety of sectors and primarily in education.

I understand that my friend talked me up because at the end of the event the director approached me and we had an informal chat about my circumstances and whether I am currently looking for a new role. He gave me his card and asked me to contact him if I am. There is now a position advertised at this large company for someone at my level to work on education projects, ranging from primary schools to higher education facilities.

I understand that primary/secondary education is government work and there would be work to be done even during a recession. I also think that universities are clients with good financial capacity and stable business, so they tend to expand and generally spend money on facilities, whether these are new builds or refurbishments.

I know that primary/secondary education projects are priced $20-30 million and involve standardised design and construction, so there is little room for interesting/innovative design.  These would be quick, repeat jobs for 2-3 person teams to get the fees in and pay the bills.

On the other hand, the university projects are $200 million jobs that could involve the opportunity for more interesting design, as higher ed institutions are considered open minded clients.

I would like to know if anyone has experience in this sector, what would be the benefits and drawbacks in regards to working there and if in your opinion staying in this sector could be a rewarding long-term commitment. I also wonder is there is opportunity in such firms to later transfer to other teams like commercial or transport and diversify my experience.

The firm is large, so pay is better than average and generally seems like a good place to work.

What do you think?