Archinect
anchor

Working and Getting Your License as an International Student

rsalomon

Is it possible for an international student to get a working visa with a master's in Architecture but without a license?

I got my bachelor's degree (business-related) in the US and worked for a year using my OPT school visa. Now I'm applying to several architecture programs in Texas, but I'm wondering whether or not will I be able to stay in the US afterwards. 

I know that American citizens can still work in architecture without a license. I went through the NAAB licensure requirements but I doubt I will be able to complete the amount of hours required before my next OPT expires, even if I get some done through internships while studying.

Are any international students out there who managed to complete the hours required and got their license? If not, where you able to get a working visa without the license and then got the license after a couple of years? I would greatly appreciate any advice or opinions you may have. 

Sep 3, 18 1:23 pm
Mr Almost Architect

I'm not an international student, but my fiancee was and here's what we can tell you. This is really a question of math & planning. From what it sounds like, the simple question is: can I complete my AXP hours requirements before OPT expires? Yes you can, but it's not easy. From what I understand, you're still a student and you're about to start graduate school. If this is the case of your situation, then it's good news for you because you still have time. AXP requires you to have around 3,600 hours I think, not really do-able in a year, but if you work part time while in school, you can achieve the necessary hours. 

Sep 9, 18 10:31 pm  · 
 · 
rsalomon

Yes, I would start graduate school next fall. My plan is to complete the hours while in school (if possible) and then apply for the licensure before my OTP expires, but I am also wondering if it would be possible to work without the licensure.

Thank you!