Archinect
anchor

Spec Writers

shellarchitect

around Christmas our spec writer of 25 years left.  the guy who took his place left after 6 months, hated the job.  New plan is for PA's to write specs.   

Anyone want to make predictions on how this will end up?

Work is govt, commercial, and industrial

Aug 22, 18 4:53 pm

1 Featured Comment

All 9 Comments

SneakyPete

Short term? Terribly. Long term? With any luck you'll develop standards and methods like you have for other aspects of the job and you'll have a tighter set of CDs. The idea of consultant spec writers has always pissed me off. It's literally the MOST IMPORTANT PART OF THE CDS.

Aug 22, 18 4:57 pm  · 
 · 
archanonymous

Couldn't agree more - I worked as a PA at an office where standard practice was to have one guy write all the specs for all the projects, and it was terrible. PA with some help from experienced staff needs to write the specs, or at least outline them.

Aug 22, 18 5:59 pm  · 
 · 
SpontaneousCombustion

SneakyPete I didn't think the OP was talking about a consultant spec writer, I think he meant an in-house staff spec writer? I don't like consultant spec writers either - they're usually doing too many different firms' work at once and they don't do anybody's standards well or know enough about any firm's best practices. But an in-house spec person can be tremendously valuable, if they stick around, even if other staff also share in the spec writing.

Aug 22, 18 6:31 pm  · 
 · 
mightyaa

Agreed. This really should be done by PA's who are most familiar with the design intent, and should learn a lot by reading specifications (like the proper installation and details which can be put back into the detail drawings). Overall, it will be good for the firm.

Aug 22, 18 6:57 pm  · 
 · 
SneakyPete

I stand corrected. Sorry, shellarchitect.

Aug 23, 18 11:44 am  · 
 · 
Flatfish