Archinect
anchor

Slate on concrete decking

RKEECH

Hello all,

I am an intern at an architecture firm and have been working on a re-roofing job for the past couple of months. We have recently found out, from the interior, that one of the additions to the building has concrete decking. I am looking for details that show how slate can be attached to concrete. Any references or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

P.S. I am new to this site so if I'm doing something wrong please let me know.

Aug 20, 18 11:41 am

1 Featured Comment

All 5 Comments

Non Sequitur

Can you simply not just nail stone directly to concrete?  What can go wrong?

Have you asked the senior staff in your office?  They likely have standard references for you to consider.

Aug 20, 18 11:47 am  · 
 · 
RKEECH

Thanks for the reply, I'm not sure if that will work but I am looking into it. As for my seniors, they're the ones who gave me the task. It's a rather small firm with only about 5 other architects.

Aug 20, 18 11:58 am  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

first few images in a google search for slate roofing tiles on conc slab showed reasonable starting points.

Aug 20, 18 1:04 pm  · 
 · 
apscoradiales

Would not do that. Put a peel-and-stick self-healing waterproof membrane over concrete, place treated wood battens (2x2s)_ then nail the slate to battens. Min. roof slope should be 3 in 12.

Dec 27, 20 2:15 pm  · 
 · 
( o Y o )

Aug 20, 18 11:54 am  · 
 · 
Featured Comment
senjohnblutarsky

You're installing slate, which is usually a steeply pitched roof.  But then there is a section of the building with a concrete deck, which is usually not a steeply pitched thing.  So, you're either telling us that someone built a steep slope concrete deck, or that you're trying to put slate shingles on a roof of insufficient slope.