Archinect
anchor

What type experience holds value for an architect ?

_SAM

I am a Junior Architect in a large architecture firm. I majorly work on sketchup and photoshop i.e presentations and have no experience of technical aspects of projects as GFC and coordination with MEP, Structural consultants. (All junior architects are given only presentation works in this firm)

My seniors at the firm are suggesting me to leave this firm as there isnt much to learn.

I want to know which type of experience is helpful in long term : prrsentation or technical experience.

Aug 16, 18 12:33 pm
JLC-1

what do you want to be? bjarke is good at presentations, renzo is good at building.

I chose building, never made much money.

Aug 16, 18 12:35 pm  · 
 · 
betonbrut

I would say go work for a general contractor and learn how buildings are built. Not only will your technical knowledge of buildings be far superior to most architects, you will make more money. Work toward becoming a licensed architect and you will have more flexibility than your peers in terms of providing value to the construction side as well as the architecture/design side. 

Aug 16, 18 12:46 pm  · 
 · 
athensarch

I'd second this. I learned more in 3 years working for a construction manager than in 5 working for an architect. If you want to go back you'll have significant CA experience and be more valuable.

Aug 17, 18 8:53 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

Anyone can push buttons in sketchup and make pretty pictures... it's not a difficult role to fill.  Knowing how shit sticks to other shit in the real world is what real careers are built on.

Aug 16, 18 1:00 pm  · 
 · 
3tk