Archinect
anchor

Should an Urban Designer Pursue Licensure

I have a question about licensure. I got my 4 year B.Arch and have always wanted to run my own design-build firm that focuses on downtown redevelopment. I got a one-year Master of Urban Design degree, which was awesome, but I am not set up for licensure in anything. Should I go back to school for another M. Arch program and be in school for literally 7 years just to gain licensure, or is there a better approach to being able to run my own design-build urban design firm?

I really would like to be licensed, but I am just not sure it is worth the time and investment, but I hate being in school for so long and not having any sort of title at the same time.

Thoughts?

Aug 2, 18 10:07 am
Wilma Buttfit

Some states allow you to get licensed with the 4-year. Or how about getting a contractor's license? 

Aug 2, 18 10:29 am  · 
 · 
thatsthat

As tintt stated, some states allow you to get licensed with a 4 year degree.  I would also check the state's regulations; some states require you to be licensed if you are the majority owner of a business that provides architectural services.

Aug 2, 18 1:12 pm  · 
 · 
AlinaF

I thought the point of becoming an Urban Designer these days is to avoid licensing and tough exams?

Aug 3, 18 12:35 pm  · 
 · 
starrchitect

LMAO.

Aug 3, 18 1:31 pm  · 
 · 
starrchitect

I concur with AlinaF. 

Licensing requirements are typically necessary for real professions (architects, doctors, lawyers, etc.) capable of incurring lawsuits as a result of gross negligence. Those "tough exams" are to separate the men from the boys. 

For the life of me, I can't fathom what negligence occurs from urban designing when everything is spelled out in city zoning resolutions.

Aug 3, 18 1:37 pm  · 
 · 
Medusa

Why not get an AICP instead and partner with someone who is an RA?

Aug 3, 18 4:00 pm  · 
 · 
Steeplechase