Archinect
anchor

Career Doubts

ninaddeole

I am a recent architecture graduate. I had worked with an architecture firm previously for 6 months. Currently, i am working with an interior designer who is my friend's cousin. He said he would teach me the practical aspects of the project. With him, i am getting to design, execute and manage vendors. Also, i am getting to learn to solve practical problems faced on site with his help. Though i am getting to learn a lot, i am distanced away from architectural projects. I am confused. I don't know whether i should keep working with the interior designer or look for a job in an architecture firm.

Ultimately, i wish to be able to undertake all architectural and interior design work. 

I need your honest advice. Please help.

Jul 18, 18 2:39 pm
Non Sequitur

Architecture is much more difficult and intensive than Int Des but managing projects and clients remains reasonably similar.  Take all the hands-on experience you can in this int des gig and use that to get an advantage once you see an opening.

Jul 18, 18 2:47 pm  · 
 · 
wurdan freo

Dammit non...

Jul 18, 18 2:50 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

Sorry, I'm all out of sass today it seems.\

Jul 18, 18 3:08 pm  · 
 · 
wurdan freo

DEAR ninaddeole: Thank you for writing. I have recommended the resources you mentioned in my column in the past. Sexaholics Anonymous and S-Anon have been in existence for more than 35 years and have helped many individuals stop unhealthy, destructive cycles of behavior. There are chapters nationwide. Readers, to find a meeting near you, visit sa.org or sanon.org.

Jul 18, 18 2:49 pm  · 
 · 
senjohnblutarsky

I'd start looking for options.  You're learning valuable things with this individual.  But, architects don't always think the most highly of interior designers.  I wouldn't stick around long enough for that label to start applying, if it were me.  

Jul 18, 18 2:50 pm  · 
 · 
archiwutm8