Archinect
anchor

What can an Engineering company (specializing in electrical) offer an architecture company?

AMBN3131

I know very little about the work of architects, so try not to rip on my ignorance, or go ahead... as long as I get helpful feedback lol.

I work with a small engineering firm as a commercial energy auditor(I have a business degree and a sustainability diploma which is buildings and energy). The head of the company thinks it's a good idea for me to pair up with another young guy(an electrical engineer) to find new sources of business.

He mentioned talking to some local architecture firms about electrical design. Find some small jobs and work to bigger ones. The firm I work with has never done this kind of work before but the owner thinks there is a lot of potential jobs in this area.

The dynamic would be that I would be the guy doing the cold calling to find potential firms to work with and the actual engineers to do the main parts of the design.

I am going to start talking to some small local architecture companies soon and I was hoping people here could shed some light on what are some typical services they look for in projects. It would be nice to go in with some knowledge.

I live in Ontario Canada if that makes any difference.

Jul 16, 18 11:49 am
Non Sequitur

I'm an Ontario Architect and one angle I can see you stepping into is energy modeling under OBC SB10 & SB12.  This is probably more on the mechanical side of engineering but we (or the client) always outsources this to large M&E offices given the size of our projects but I can see an advantage to smaller custom residential focused architects if you can provide SB12 energy modeling services.

My 2 cents' worth.  I'm not sure if I am helping or confusing the situation.

Jul 16, 18 12:11 pm  · 
 · 
Rusty!