Archinect
anchor

want to progress to management of architectural projects, no interest in designing & drafting

Deepti_spa

Hi Everyone!!

Just wondering if someone can step in my shoes and give me some advice based on their experiences..

So,my case goes like this - I graduated in Architecture in 2007 from one of the very famous schools of architecture from INDIA. Throughout my course, I was above average, if not the best..after graduation, I joined & later switched some good arch firms, worked hard, was always among the best & dedicated employees...BUT...I was never that good at designing and I could only enjoy drafting for 2-3 years in my initial job years. Ever since, I always enjoyed the after phase of designing. I mean once the concept has been designed by the consultant architect, I enjoyed taking the design forward to the construction phase, co-ordinating various services and structures into architectural drawings (of course there are services & structural engineers to design those, but I enjoyed integrating all that on one platform, analysing it, deriving further requirements from it, instructing designers for necessary revisions to accommodate all  services smoothly...basically, the work which drives the actual planning & execution of the design at site)...I also enjoyed to be the link between the designers & the builders, administrate & document the project, exchange project info between different departments like marketing/purchase/ liaisoning etc. I believe, I was doing some very meaningful and high pressure job which directly affected the builders' businesses. BUT...when someone expected me to design..I use to loose confidence in my other capabilities completely because architects are expected to be good designers which I am not. All this was back in INDIA.