Archinect
anchor

Internship

tienhuynh1999

Hello, I'm a freshman at Iowa State University, doing Pre-Arch and hoping that I can get into the Architecture program. As I was talking to my mentor, he mentioned about internship and why it is crucial for my future career. 3700+ hours is a lot of time so I figure I should start doing internships. But the problem is I don't know when would be suitable for me to find one. In addition, what skills should I have other than university's fundamental knowledge.

Thank you

Tien Huynh

Jul 9, 18 4:53 pm

Change career path now.

Jul 9, 18 4:57 pm  · 
 · 
tienhuynh1999

Why is that?

Jul 9, 18 6:31 pm  · 
 · 

Why on Earth would you want to be an architect?

Jul 9, 18 7:32 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur
3700 is not a lot of hours. Find a job swinging hammers in the sun. You’ll learn ten times as much there than as an intern with zero billable skills.
Jul 9, 18 5:28 pm  · 
 · 
tienhuynh1999

So you are saying that I should find more realistic jobs before I go into an internship?

Jul 9, 18 6:32 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

Ding ding fucking ding. I drove a forklift for many summers in the first half of my arch degree and made more then (12ish years ago) than interns do today.
Learned more too.

Jul 9, 18 6:38 pm  · 
 · 
joseffischer

Agreed, but you don't have to be so blunt about it Non Sequitur. As I recall required horus used to be in the 6000 range, no?

Jul 10, 18 10:02 am  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

Yes, they used to be. I think 5800 or something like that when I went through it. Still, hard to imagine hours spent prior to even your degree can be counted for licensing. I know they can't be (anymore) in my area anyways.

Jul 10, 18 10:16 am  · 
 · 
eeayeeayo