Archinect
anchor

How much should I be getting paid?

isabellesaspa

So I’ve been working as an independent contractor for an architect for 3 years. I got accepted into SCI-Arc as an undergrad 2 years working under this architect. Before all this happened I was taking classes at a junior college. In this gig, I have learned how to do design drawings and construction drawings although I have never handled/ran projects on my own yet because the architect is such a control freak, otherwise I know I won’t have a difficult time running a project. But I am a good designer and the fact that I have knowledge in CDs makes me more valuable. Lately I’ve been feeling because minimum wage recently increased that I should also be making more. When I started at this job I was offered $15/hr but the architect offered me $16 after 2 years of working with him and it’s been the same. I just want to get some insight on how much I should be getting paid on an hourly basis for my capabilities. I know I’m an independent contractor and I can propose/demand a new rate for my services but I never presented him a contract to sign when I started working with him so I just wanna know if I’m being greedy to think that I deserve $18/hr at this point now. I know I haven’t graduated but I have the experience. I’d appreciate some realistic and honest thoughts.

Jul 2, 18 11:24 am

1 Featured Comment

All 19 Comments

JLC-1

apply to a job and you will find out - but $18 is what my son is making as a summer lifeguard at the local pool. He's probably billing your work at $90/hr. If that's the case you should be getting at least $35/hr. run away from control freaks, work and otherwise...

Jul 2, 18 11:46 am  · 
 · 
bowling_ball

Hahahaha

Jul 2, 18 7:39 pm  · 
 · 
joseffischer