Archinect
anchor

Career advice ....

I'm a middle-aged artist and I'm thinking about a major career change. I've always been interested in astronomy and once had a telescope. Also I've read thousands of science fiction novels and seen just about every scifi movie ever made. Not only that but I am very artistic, skilled with color, and detail-oriented. I really want to be an astronaut and think my qualifcations are perfectly suited for that. How would I go about preparing to be an astronaut? What school has the best astronaut program? Will I be able to work part-time while attending (I still have to make a living)? Are there student loans and grants available? Can I work at NASA and learn while I earn?

Thank you.

Jun 13, 18 5:29 pm

1 Featured Comment

All 20 Comments

Maybe tweet at Elon Musk?

Jun 13, 18 5:41 pm

Do you enjoy spinning around at high speed while vomiting?

Jun 13, 18 5:43 pm
geezertect

Defecating and urinating on yourself while lying in bed would be excellent preparation for wearing a space suit in a zero gravity environment.

Jun 13, 18 6:16 pm

Also good prep for Social Security

curtkram

you could try astrologer.  that's pretty much the same thing.

Jun 13, 18 8:09 pm
geezertect

Madame Miles.

tintt

I just read my horoscope. Dead on.

tintt

Try tarot. It works.

curtkram

i ching too

tintt

Write sci-fi graphic novels.

Jun 13, 18 8:30 pm
Bench
You forgot to ask if there were any shorter, alternative routes to becoming an astronaut, because you also heard it takes a long time but you feel like you don’t really need to go through all of that, just the important bits.
Jun 13, 18 8:56 pm
tintt

Don't forget to tell us all how much we suck.

Jun 13, 18 9:43 pm
tintt

There's something I'm eternally thankful for, that the east coast is far far away.

AlinaF

Hey don't do that. That 'toxic' guy got banned.

curtkram

oh AlinaF. bless your heart. toxic is what we do here.

RickB-Astoria