Archinect
anchor

Career advice ....

I'm a middle-aged artist and I'm thinking about a major career change. I've always been interested in astronomy and once had a telescope. Also I've read thousands of science fiction novels and seen just about every scifi movie ever made. Not only that but I am very artistic, skilled with color, and detail-oriented. I really want to be an astronaut and think my qualifcations are perfectly suited for that. How would I go about preparing to be an astronaut? What school has the best astronaut program? Will I be able to work part-time while attending (I still have to make a living)? Are there student loans and grants available? Can I work at NASA and learn while I earn?

Thank you.

Jun 13, 18 5:29 pm

1 Featured Comment

All 17 Comments

geezertect

Defecating and urinating on yourself while lying in bed would be excellent preparation for wearing a space suit in a zero gravity environment.

Jun 13, 18 6:16 pm  · 
1  · 
curtkram

you could try astrologer.  that's pretty much the same thing.

Jun 13, 18 8:09 pm  · 
 · 
geezertect

Madame Miles.

Jun 13, 18 9:00 pm  · 
 · 
Wilma Buttfit

I just read my horoscope. Dead on.

Jun 13, 18 9:52 pm  · 
 · 
Wilma Buttfit

Try tarot. It works.

Jun 13, 18 10:17 pm  · 
 · 
curtkram

i ching too

Jun 13, 18 10:25 pm  · 
 · 
Wilma Buttfit

Write sci-fi graphic novels.

Jun 13, 18 8:30 pm  · 
 · 
Bench
You forgot to ask if there were any shorter, alternative routes to becoming an astronaut, because you also heard it takes a long time but you feel like you don’t really need to go through all of that, just the important bits.
Jun 13, 18 8:56 pm  · 
 · 
Wilma Buttfit

Don't forget to tell us all how much we suck.

Jun 13, 18 9:43 pm  · 
 · 
Wilma Buttfit

There's something I'm eternally thankful for, that the east coast is far far away.

Jun 14, 18 8:47 am  · 
 · 
AlinaF

Hey don't do that. That 'toxic' guy got banned.

Jun 14, 18 6:22 pm  · 
 · 
curtkram