Archinect
anchor

Freelancing as a student

Sugey

Hi! I am a 4th year undergrad architecture student and I recently got an offer to draw some plans for a client. I was wondering if anyone could help me with how to charge the client. It is a small project and I would just be drawing plans. In advance, I appreciate everyone's advice!

Jun 8, 18 11:21 am
Non Sequitur

Are you legally allowed too?  Depending on the location, your local arch association, or even building department, might take issue.

Jun 8, 18 11:45 am  · 
 · 
Sugey

Since it is a small project the owner will take the plans to the city for review and they can then assign him an architect/contractor for the project. The plans are just to illustrate what the owner wants to do in his property to the city.

Jun 8, 18 11:53 am  · 
 · 
JLC-1

drawing plans is illegal? the police is getting crazy.....

Jun 8, 18 12:25 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

It is if done for permitting in my area... well, not arrest-able illegal, just fines and the high likelihood that the client needs to pay someone else to get to work done.

Jun 8, 18 12:31 pm  · 
 · 
JLC-1

right, but he's just drawing the plans for somebody - the act of drawing plans, not the bureaucracy of presenting plans to the inquisition.

Jun 8, 18 12:37 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

^correct, as was clarified above. I was just expanding on my initial comment.

Cost should be amount of hours estimated times twice the local minimum wage.

Jun 8, 18 12:39 pm  · 
 · 
mtn_mn

I would come up with an hourly rate for drafting services that you feel is appropriate. You shouldn't have a legal issue unless you are claiming to offer professional architectural services. 

Jun 8, 18 12:16 pm  · 
 · 
randomised