Archinect
anchor

Moving to Canada, BC

bassemfarra

Hi all, 

I work as an Architect in United Arab Emirates (Dubai), I have a B.Arch and 4 years of work experience in the same country. For many personal reasons, I am planning to move to Canada.

I am willing to start working as a draftsman/technician for a start because I have limited savings and I would need a secure job as soon as possible. So I want to know what can I do as a new migrant with such qualifications to jump-start myself to work as an Architectural draftsman in Canada? (More specifically in British Columbia)

I appreciate all your answers,

Jun 5, 18 10:12 am
Non Sequitur

First, verify that your existing experience qualifies under the CACB.  Chances are that it will not (and your experience is well below the minimum for foreign-trained architect).  If that is the case, you will need to complete an accredited M.Arch degree (3 years) in order to register as an intern-architect and eventually write your Canadian exams.  

Now, you don't need an M.arch to work in canada however, you will be limited to technologist/draftsman roles which are typically for the 2-3y college level staff. This is your best bet to get going here as you'll need to quickly become familiar with the local codes and building regulations.  BC has plenty of large A&E offices.  Good luck. 

Jun 5, 18 10:25 am  · 
1  · 
OneLostArchitect

Depending where his B Arch is from it might qualify him under CACB. Some B Arch’s are a professional degree. Most important thing is to get your permemant residence card. Firms will not sponsor you nor waste their time if your are not a permanent  residence. I know from first hand experience. Second if you have limited funds British Columbia and I assume you are referring to Vancouver region is super expensive! Is there a reason why you consider Vancouver rather than say Southern Ontario? Like NS posted get a lower entry draftsman position and work your way up. Best of luck to you