Archinect
anchor

Second career in Architecture being considered...

Burton83

I've been working in physical therapy for the past 10 years and I don't agree with the direction our health care system has gone so I transitioned my role into marketing for physical therapy while I started looking into other career path's and completing my bachelor's in business this fall to become more diversified. 

After some searching I'm considering a career change from health care/marketing to architecture, but my major concerns are that I'm 35 years old (without Arch. exp. as an undergrad) and with future plans of having a kid in a year or so I don't know how transitioning a career to architecture would even start? I'm seeing my options as:

A. Look at starting in ~1 year by doing a local tech school's architectural design associates program, but this feels backwards personally

B. Look into B. Arch. programs?

C. Look into M Arch. programs?

Any direction is welcome at this point please, I'm in Delaware if that needs to be considered for any suggestions.

Thank you!

May 8, 18 11:42 am
SneakyPete

Do you have a good understanding of the economic realities of Architecture? Do you understand the divide between why people go into Architecture and the sorts of tasks many people working in the profession perform on a daily basis? At 35, make sure you weigh the realities, not the alluring marketing. It can be a rewarding career, but it can also let you down if you go into it with your head in the clouds.

May 8, 18 11:49 am  · 
 · 
Burton83