Archinect
anchor

Mid-career change

s13logan

Hello,

This should be an interesting problem to sink your teeth into...

I’m a mid-career professional with an MBA. I’ve had a fairly successful run in the technology business. I started college as a 17 year old freshman majoring in Arch. After a challenging first year, I changed by major to Business, eventually getting my MBA. I’ve never lost my love for architecture. I’ve renovated and flipped a few houses on my own in the past (ahem) 20 years. I find myself at a point in life where I can finish something I’m passionate about but haven’t finished. In doing some research I see that Urban Planning is often coupled with an Arch degree. That’s also interesting to me because while I’m interested in the practice of Architecture, the entrepreneur in me sees an interesting confluence of business, architecture and urban planning (Consulting, commercial real estate investment, etc). 

All that being said, are there thoughts about ways to pursue the education side of things (I’ve already had one undergrad program say I’m a fit for Master’s programs and not undergrad which seems less than logical to me, but ok)? I’m not interested in a survey course, but a deep dive into both areas of study. If there are career suggestions, I would be wide open to that as well.

I’m wide open to thoughts and suggestions for how to tackle this issue. Thank you for reading my long note and for taking the time to respond!

Feb 21, 18 2:11 pm
resipsa

You could pursue a masters in real estate. Several of these programs do offer urban planning courses. 

Feb 21, 18 2:52 pm  · 
 · 
s13logan