Archinect
anchor

Different climatic zones and implications in job finding

Aldea

To start with, I'm very new to this so please bear with me (as an architect and as a user on this forum).

I'm an architect from India who's graduated in the August of 2016. I then moved to the United Arab Emirates (or Dubai for those who aren't aware of this country) where I proceeded to start my career as a Junior architect doing a fair bit of drafting and learning to work the details before moving on to the site as an Architectural Inspector.

For multiple reasons I had decided to move to North America (probably Canada). Now the question is should I somehow manage to get a Permanent Residence VISA, would getting a job with a Bachelors Degree and 2-3 years of experience in this part of the world (India and/or the Gulf) would suffice for getting myself a job? The concern arises as a result of the extreme difference in the climates and consequently the construction materials and techniques involved. Perhaps more knowledge about working with wood and in the HVAC systems employed would be required?

Moreover, I hear getting a license in North America takes 5 to 7 years of practice (and then perhaps you make an application followed by a test?). Is it really worth the while? Will I be drafting away all these years or have any actual input, design or otherwise?

And with that I end my long list of questions. Thanks!

Feb 9, 18 12:12 pm
Non Sequitur

Like I mentioned in another reply, the education standards vary greatly for foreign trained architects and, given that you only have two years and are unlicensed in UAE, you will not qualify for reciprocity in Canada.  Furthermore, you will need to submit your degree to the CACB for compliance with the Canadian curriculum prior to registering as an intern with any of the provincial boards.