Archinect
anchor

Quitting design for trades career?

anondesign

Backstory: I graduated with an architecture degree a few years ago, worked in a few offices and hated each one, generally had a bad time like most people do in this field. Struggled with the office politics, pretentiousness, pressure for endless unpaid overtime, low level of critical thinking and basic design competence in my bosses, developer worship, feeling like I'm making the world worse through bullshit developments and cutting down trees, and finally after a few years of endless CADing up my all male bosses mediocre little sketches late into the night each night I quit. Knew I couldn't handle a desk job or staring at a computer screen anymore, wanted to do something with my hands and something more interactive, and sick of feeling embarrassed to tell people what I do (I'm an architect, I hate architects).

No regrets about stepping out of this field even with student loan debt and a lot of my 20s dedicated to it, much happier even with less money and I'm taking a bunch of classes at community college now in the direction of health care, since it satisfies my criteria of being hands on, not a desk job, not a computer job, and a profession I respect more than architects. So anyone who is on the fence....just quit!! Don't feel guilty, there are ways to get out and the sooner you do it the better.