Archinect
anchor

Switching Job Every Year

jeffl

Hi guys,

I am looking for some career advice.

I graduated in 2014 and been working for almost 4 years. Now, I didn't really enjoy my work so much and kept on changing my job. Lucky that the economy has been good. I have been with my 4th employer now for 14 months but I hate my job and my employer's gut and am thinking about moving on again. I probably will quit architecture and go back to grad school to find some other work in next few years, but I cannot stop working yet because I need the pay check. And I am wondering just how bad is it to employers when they see four different jobs in 4 years? To be honest, if I was running my own firm, I would think twice before hiring someone like that. 

What do you think and have you seen any extreme cases like mine, changing job every year?

Jan 26, 18 1:13 pm

Switching jobs a lot is not uncommon especially for people just starting out and as more firms use temp workers and we head into a gig based economy. Just have an honest story about why you left, but if Architecture is not what you want to do I would suggest moving on sooner rather than latter to something else.

Over and OUT

Peter N

Jan 26, 18 1:22 pm  · 
 · 
jeffl

Peter. Good to know that job switching is becoming more common. I'd like to quit arch today but I need some cushion in my pocket for school and possible no income situation. Thanks for the comment.

Jan 26, 18 1:30 pm  · 
 · 
geezertect

I'd probably leave out the part about hating your employer's guts. That might be a bit of a turnoff in a job interview.

Jan 26, 18 2:32 pm  · 
null pointer

The more you switch the higher your salary will be.

Fuck boomers and their corporate loyalty ethos.

They fucked us in 2007/2008. They are owed nothing.

Jan 26, 18 1:56 pm  · 
 · 
geezertect

As a boomer, I completely agree.

Jan 26, 18 2:32 pm  · 
 · 
jeffl

Yes, my salary started from near poverty line to barely livable.

Jan 26, 18 3:05 pm  · 
 ·