Archinect
anchor

Architecture or BIM as a career path

Gsouth

I realised that with the title of my previous thread I might not necessarily be attracting the people with the right exexperience or interest to respond to my call for advice, so I have decided to re-post it under a more appropriate title. If this is against the forum rules, please let me know whether I can either change the title of the other or delete it. Thanks

Hi guys.

Im hoping someone can give me a little advice.

TL;DR I am a fully qualified and registered architect, I studied software development before architecture. I completely lost my passion for architecture due to a bad working experience, and am now looking at directing my career toward BIM management/coordination/development.

• Is it a good idea to move into BIM from architecture?
  • How and where can I start and grow into this area?
  • Would I easily be able to move back to architecture after a year or two if I find I do not enjoy this direction, even  if I worked in non-architecture type companies such as BIM consultancies?
  • Will I be making my life more difficult, with regards to finding jobs or good salaries than it currently is being an architect (also what about the future)?

Some background:

I am a registered professional architect in South Africa, completed my MArch and have about 4 years of working experience.

For the past year or so I have been working at a very prominent company that I really love, but under a manager that has just completely destroyed my love and passion for architecture. Through habits like micro management, lack of trust, bad communication, bad planning if any planning at all, rejecting ideas that might be for the good of the project just because they do not align with what he wants, and making me work overtime because he procrastinates and hands me tasks at the end of the day.

For various reasons, just moving to a different manager in this situation is not as easy as it sounds.