Archinect
anchor

How to build a small house

Elexanyc

Hi everyone! I am new to the forum, I am an  architect in New York City and I want to build my own small house upstate. I am embarrassed to say that I have little experience in building a house from start to finish, I wonder if anyone could recommend some books to look into. I think it could be a great learning experience. I stumbled upon a series of books "from pros to pros". Are there perhaps any seminars I could attend? Any ideas would be greatly appreciated. Thank you very much 

Dec 23, 17 11:26 am
citizen

It's the same as building a huge house, only you stop much sooner.  ;o]

(Sorry.)

No embarrassment called for!  Many of us haven't gone through every step.  It'll be an adventure.

To Christopher's very good suggestion, I'd add the great importance of researching local codes, both building and planning.  Some smaller jurisdictions' point of pride is a unique set of regulations or overlays.  Misreads or bad assumptions early on can cause heartache and extra cost.  I'd strongly recommend an early meeting with officials.  Good luck!

Dec 23, 17 6:55 pm  · 
 · 
citizen

+++ "Yessir, of course, sir. And, may I say, sir, that is one handsome crewcut!"

Dec 23, 17 7:20 pm  · 
 · 

Chris and citizen are spot-on. To them I can only add play it straight. Experienced construction people will sniff out a poser before the car door opens. 

Think like water (and snow and ice). Don't put windows and doors where snow will pile up against them or where the roof will drain on them. Gutters are bad design, they freeze and back up. Avoid plumbing in exterior walls that will freeze. Study the traditional local vernacular, there are reasons for it. Utilize the knowledge and experience of the local contractors. 

Dec 23, 17 7:31 pm  · 
 · 

This is Small House, CA and necessary details for one story construction. So easy as you want to be here.

Dec 23, 17 9:27 pm  · 
 · 
Wood Guy